Mississippi Signs Nation’s Toughest Abortion Ban Into Law

Mississippi just earned the award for the most hated state in the union by Planned Parenthood.

Gov. Phil Bryant signed into law this week the controversial bill that limits abortion to 15 weeks of gestation.

Previously it was tied with North Carolina for a ban on abortion after 20 weeks.

The pro-abort left has already promised lawsuits to challenge the constitutionality of the law which they argue violates Roe v. Wade because babies aren’t viable at 15 weeks.

Because, you know, we should only protect life if it can be sustained on its own.

Um, wait, doesn’t that include lots of already-born people too?

We wouldn’t want science to get in the way of ideology and political agendas, though.

Here’s more from Clarion Ledger…

Mississippi’s governor signed a law Monday banning most abortions after 15 weeks’ gestations, the tightest restrictions in the nation.

Republican Gov. Phil Bryant has frequently said he wants Mississippi to be the “safest place in America for an unborn child.”

House Bill 1510’s only exceptions are if a fetus has health problems making it “incompatible with life” outside of the womb at full term, or if a pregnant woman’s life or a “major bodily function” is threatened by pregnancy. Pregnancies resulting from rape and incest aren’t exempted.

Mississippi previously tied with North Carolina for the nation’s strictest abortion limits at 20 weeks. Both states count pregnancy as beginning on the first day of a woman’s previous menstrual period. That means the restrictions kick in about two weeks before those of states whose 20-week bans begin at conception.

The state is bracing for immediate lawsuits. Abortion rights advocates say the law is unconstitutional because it limits abortion before fetuses can live outside the womb. The owner of Mississippi’s only abortion clinic in Jackson opposes the law and has pledged to sue.

You Might Also Like