Nearly All GOP Senators Bow Out of 2024 Race

As the 2024 race heats up, Republican senators have kept a wide berth from the presidential arena.

Despite the Senate being packed with ambitious, big-name politicians, Republicans in the upper chamber have been hesitant about going toe-to-toe with former President Donald Trump in a marked departure from past elections. Meanwhile, hoards of Republican governors are gearing up for a potential run.

Back in the 2016 cycle, at least five of the 17 major Republicans served in the Senate at one point, including Sens. Marco Rubio (R-FL), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Rand Paul (R-KY), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), and Rick Santorum (R-PA), who is no longer a senator.

This time, however, virtually all of the top Republican senators have declined to run and have actively refrained from cultivating buzz about them running. Read more…

You Might Also Like