Seven Republicans Join Democrats in Voting to Convict Former President Trump

Mitt Showing His Colors

Seven GOP senators on Saturday joined 50 Democrats in voting to convict former President Donald Trump on an article of impeachment, though the vote fell short and Trump was acquitted.

Sens. Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), and Pat Toomey (R-Pa.) voted to convict Trump in a charge of incitement of insurrection.

“I listened to the arguments on both sides I thought the arguments in favor of conviction were much stronger,” Toomey told reporters after the vote.

“Our Constitution and our country is more important than any one person. I voted to convict President Trump because he is guilty,” Cassidy, who has been censured by his party for his anti-Trump votes, added in a video statement.

Romney, a longtime Trump critic, said he carefully considered arguments from the House impeachment managers and Trump’s legal team before concluding the former president was guilty.

“President Trump incited the insurrection against Congress by using the power of his office to summon his supporters to Washington on January 6th and urging them to march on the Capitol during the counting of electoral votes. He did this despite the obvious and well known threats of violence that day,” he said. Read more…

You Might Also Like